Putting a dynamic link in an Infusionsoft email as href

I am a developer attempting to provide a personalized link for each email we send out. We have methods to replace variables in the text with fields provided by our system. Unfortunately, the link can only be displayed as the literal text (which looks like crap with a bunch of encrypted post variables). I was hoping there was some way to embed links in the literal text passed to infusionsoft rather than using the GUI which only allows a generic link in the email not a custom one for each email. Basically, I can get the link on the email text but it would look a lot better as a button or linked text. Please let me know if any of you have had a similar problem.

You can place a button with a url that uses merge codes for parameters.

I have tried this and though the button shows up, the link seems to get wiped out. Does infusionsoft remove any onclick from button definitions? that is what it appears like when I inspect it. I have a linked text now but button would be ideal.

So maybe we need to be more specific about what you’re working with?

Are you editing an email in html instead of the builder? If using the builder, which one are you using (new or old)?

So we have code that str_Replaces the HTML and plaintext from the template and returns the template with substituted values. as you can see right now I swap an <a href=“Link”> for the link area. but but <button onclick=URL> the whole onlick=URL get removed. It wont replace the variable in the URL area of the template builder so ive been trying to pass whole HTML objects including the link.

and here is the email with fields to replace