PHP API to Add / Update Contacts with Just API Key Instead of OAuth

Hi,

I am new to Infusionsoft. I have already build a Ecommerce Portal using PHP & Trying infusionsoft to Automate Marketing Process.

I am trying to find information about PHP API that can allow me to add / update contact without oAuth mechanism as Some logical part needs to be calculated via CronJobs.

Any help / suggestion would be helpful.

Regards,
Anoop Pete

You can generate a token manually if necessary, and then set the cron job to refresh it intermittently. So long as it doesn’t expire and you store it locally, you should never have an issue.

OAuth provides several significant security enhancements, and we intend to eventually sunset Legacy API Keys. I would not suggest building new functionality around them at this time.

@Anoop_Pete,

This is the crossroad that many developers are facing. That where what we desire in simplicity meets with the requirements of what we have to work with. It would not be good to get stuck on avoiding OAuth because, eventually, it will leave you in a position of having to work it out in a much shorter period of time. As mentioned, managing a database entry for updating active access tokens and refresh tokens is the primary recommendation. I have a video that covers some of the specifics and it might be helpful in overcoming that hurdle:

This is LAME! OAuth is supposed to be used only for direct user interaction. We need to be able to call the api anytime we need via our own member interaction without an Infusionsoft user needing to be there.

Refreshing OAuth token on an interval is NOT a great solution and is very prone to issues. Also it’s just giving us more work!

1 Like

Why do you believe it is prone to issues and not a good solution?