Maximum Number of Custom Fields Available

Hi! Good morning. I am new in using Infusion Soft and my boss wants me to add up some custom fields. Unfortunately, we have maxed out all 100 fields that are available that I need to delete some fields that are seldom used.

I just want to ask if there’s any way we can use more than 100 fields? I know that’s the maximum number of fields available but is there any future plan that there will be more fields available?

Appreciate your response.

Technically, there are 700 custom fields available but they are spread out over 7 tables at 100 per table. The caveat is that the contact table custom fields are the only ones that are really actionable. So in a practical sense, you will only be limited to the 100 contact table fields. Programmaticly, you could manage swapping them back and forth but that is very cludgy. You can use certain field types to represent groups of information as a list but again, quite un-natural.

So bottom line is, you’re really only going to have 100 to work with in any real practical sense.

1 Like

@Credit_Team, check out https://fieldspace.io/ - it’s a Chrome plugin that essentially allows you to archive some custom fields that you are no longer using. You can still use them in a search but can’t merge the data in emails.

If you can find some to “archive” it may give you enough to create new custom fields.

2 Likes

I’d recommend checking out https://fieldspace.io/ like @Cheryl_Hunt mentioned. But also consider the idea that often tags can be used instead of fields. For example, if you need to store whether someone is Male or Female, you could use tags. If you want to store age ranges (0-18, 19-29, 30-39, etc), tags could be used instead. General rule: If you need to merge the information into an email or other communication, it must be a custom field, not a tag. If the potential values are fixed, and you don’t need to merge the information into an email, then use tags.

2 Likes

@Credit_Team,