How to build a private app?

Hello, I’m a developer looking to build a private app for my company. More specifically, I need to develop something that will receive webhook updates and then make REST calls in response (no front-end at all). I have registered my application, but it looks like the rest of the process involves a demo and then submission to the marketplace. What if I don’t want to go that route? What are the recommended steps for me, broadly speaking?

Thanks in advance!

I guess it would depend on what you are referring to by “I have registered the process”. It sounds like you’re saying you’ve registered or applied to place it on the marketplace because registering isn’t necessary. Only other kind of registering you would need to do is for your Mashery/OAuth client id/secret and your REST endpoints, neither of which have anything to do with demos or the marketplace.

Hey @John_Borelli, thank you so much for answering. I’m actually quite confused, to be honest, and thought that creating an app was the only way to go, except that it won’t have a front-end. So, you’re saying I don’t need to create an app? I have obtained a client id and secret, but I don’t know how to setup a URL for receiving webhooks, how to subscribe to them, etc. Also there’s also API throttling. How can this limit be increased?

Thank you so much in advance! :slight_smile:

Are you just wanting to use REST hooks? If so then you only need your credentials to validate the end point(s). From there all you have to do is be able to work with the data structure that is sent to those endpoints. So while you will need the client id/secret to register the end points, if you’re only using the hooks then you won’t need them after that. Git hub has examples on how to do this and there is more than one way to accomplish this.